An Introduction to the Piano

Twelve years ago I purchased a 1934 Steinway piano from a very unlikely source.  I happened to be in the right place at the right time.  My good fortune of finding  such a beautiful piano has opened doors for me that I would have never imagined possible.

My first introduction to the American Pianists Association (APA) was at the home of my good friends Connie and Steve Lyman.

P1010164

Connie had told me about an exciting experience they had when hosting a piano concert at their home.

DSC_0923

I found myself wanting to know more about the organization and how I could volunteer my home for a concert.  Connie and Steve invited me to be a guest at their home to hear Jeremy Siskind, an American Pianists Association Jazz Fellowship Awards Finalist.

P1010094

It was then that I became hooked on the excitement of listening to beautiful music being played by such talented young artists.  What an honor to have a world class pianist serenading you in the comfort of a lovely home.  My desire to become involved with the American Pianists Association took over and I had to volunteer my home and piano for a concert.

Connie introduced me to Joel Harrison, APA’s President/CEO & Artistic Director.  In January of 2013 I opened my home to APA donors and their guests for Music Matters.

2

Since I like to entertain, sharing my home with the APA was an easy fit.  The evening was a success and I look forward to many more!

Attending my first Finals of an APA competition, last April at the Hilbert Circle Theatre, has been my most memorable APA event thus far.  It was a delight to hear the five very talented pianist  over the two evenings.  It was also my pleasure to introduce the American Pianists Association to several friends at the Finals.  The excitement was truly felt by all who attended.

APA-2013-0044

Little did I know that my involvement would lead to serving on the Board of Directors.  I am honored and delighted to have been asked to serve with all the wonderfully talented people at APA.  I look forward to meeting and getting to know everyone in the very near future and the many years to come.

Joel did not waste any time putting me to work.  I am pleased to be the Co-Chair with David Honig for the upcoming “The Best of France” fundraiser for the American Pianists Association in January 2014.  We have exciting things planned for the evening and I hope to see everyone there!

Kim Thomas

Author: americanpianistsassociation

The mission of the American Pianists Association is to discover, promote and advance the careers of young, American jazz and classical pianists.

Leave a Reply

