Get to know #GrandEncounters artist Vadym Kholodenko

Vadym Kholodenko, Van Cliburn International Piano Competition Gold Medalist, is playing a solo, classical piano concert at the Eugene and Marilyn Glick Indiana History Center on March 16, 2014 (3:30 PM) as part of American Pianists Association‘s Grand Encounters.

photo credit The Cliburn Ralph Lauer

Photo credit: The Cliburn/Ralph Lauer

Get to know him here…

1. Where did you grow up? 

I grew up in Kiev, Ukraine.

2. Are you from a musical family? 

No, I am not from a musical family.  I am the first musician in my family.

3. What attracted you to the piano?

My mother brought me to a musical school and from the beginning I felt that music took a special place in my life. I don’t remember the particular time I realized I would like to be a pianist, because it was so natural for me.

4. What age were you when you started to play the piano?

I started to play the piano when I was 6 years old.

5. How do you deal with the pressure and being on stage? 

I focus on the music.

6. What is an ordinary day like for you? 

It is like a magic trip to the Land of Oz.

7. Any thoughts on classical music? 

I think the best thoughts on classical music are in Prokofiev’s memoirs.

Classical music (and music overall) is probably the inspirational art. I get inspired every time I’m playing, and the feelings you experience during listening are invaluable.

8. What type of music do you listen to? 

I listen different styles of music. When you are on the road it’s impossible listen to classical music. Classical music requires special surrounding and circumstances. My favorites are Radiohead, Coldplay, SOAD.

9. Favorite composer or piece? 

Kabalevsky “Clowns”

10. Favorite restaurant(s)? 

Umami burger.

11. Favorite movie(s)? 

All-Tarantino.

12. Favorite TV show(s)? 

Santa Barbara.

13. Favorite vacation destination? 

My favorite city is Magadan—in far East Russia.

14. Interesting facts about yourself? 

I’m simultaneously listening to Richard Stallman’s lectures about free software, playing Minecraft, and keeping up discussions on Reddit. Isn’t it interesting?

16. Where would someone find you on a Saturday afternoon? 

I wish with my family.

Tickets for Vadym Kholodenko’s Grand Encounters concert on March 16th are available at http://www.americanpianists.org, by calling 317.940.9945 or by clicking the image below.

Vadym

Author: americanpianistsassociation

The mission of the American Pianists Association is to discover, promote and advance the careers of young, American jazz and classical pianists.

Leave a Reply

