Get to know #GrandEncounters artist Emanuel Ax

The American Pianists Association is presenting Grammy Award-winning pianist, Emanuel Ax, in a solo concert at The Howard L. Schrott Center for the Arts (on the campus of Butler University) Tuesday, May 13 | 7:30 PM (this will be the final concert in the 2013-2014 Grand Encounters series). 

AX1(C)~1

GET TO KNOW HIM HERE:

Where did you grow up?

I was born in Lvov, Poland and moved to Winnipeg, Canada with my family when I was a young boy.

What age were you when you started to play the piano?

I started playing the piano at age 7.

How do you deal with the pressure and being on stage?

I’m always a little nervous, ultimately it is just part of the job.

What is an ordinary day like for you?

I get up in the morning, practice for about 3 hours, eat lunch and then continue my practicing until dinnertime.

What type of music do you listen to?

I listen to opera, jazz piano, string quartets and a lot of classical piano.

Favorite restaurant(s)?

There are a few Chinese and BBQ restaurants in both New York and Chicago that I really enjoy.

Favorite movie?

Groundhog Day.

groundhog_day

Favorite TV show(s)?

The Wire.  And, also Top Chef.

Do you have a favorite season?

Any that involve cooler weather.

Favorite vacation destination?

Home.

Interesting facts about yourself?

I am a huge sports fan.  My favorite football team is the New York Giants.  And, my wife and I are both really big fans of tennis.

Where would someone find you on a Saturday afternoon?

Preparing for a concert.

 

Tickets for Emanuel Ax’s Grand Encounters concert are available by calling 317.940.9945, at http://www.americanpianists.org or by clicking the image below:

Emanuel

Author: americanpianistsassociation

The mission of the American Pianists Association is to discover, promote and advance the careers of young, American jazz and classical pianists.

Leave a Reply

