GRAND ENCOUNTERS | Eric Lu

The American Pianists Association presents classical pianist Eric Lu at Butler University’s Eidson-Duckwall Recital Hall, Sunday, March 6, 2016 in a 3:30 PM concert.

Eric Lu photo 2

Tickets are $10 – $40 and are available by calling the American Pianists Association at 317.940.9945 or by visiting http://www.americanpianists.org.

APA: Where did you grow up?

ERIC: I grew up in Bedford MA, about 30 min outside of Boston.

 

APA: Are you from a musical family?

ERIC: I am not from a musical family, both my parents are not musicians, but they definitely are “music lovers”, which in some ways, is even more important, I think. There was always music around the house via recordings, so I really loved it and was exposed to it from early childhood.

 

APA: What age were you when you started to play the piano?

ERIC: I started the piano around the age of 5 1/2.

 

APA: What type of music do you listen to?

ERIC: Almost all classical. Definitely in my spare time.

 

APA: Favorite venue?

ERIC: This is hard to say for sure, but I would say right now probably the Warsaw Philharmonic Concert Hall. The most intense and significant musical experience in my life so far happened there at the Chopin Competition, and it really was a memorable one. The hall is so beautiful, and wonderful acoustics too.

 

APA: How do you deal with the pressure and being on stage?

ERIC: I think that is constantly evolving, and gets better with experience. However, each new time on is like a fresh start, you are just as nervous as the last time.

 

APA: What is an ordinary day like for you?

ERIC: An ordinary day, if I’m not somewhere playing, would be quite simple. I’d probably sleep in(if I don’t have a morning class at school), go to class, practice, spend time with friends, eat, etc..

 

APA: Favorite restaurant?

ERIC: It’s hard to say, don’t really have a specific one right now. Although the best place I have been for food has definitely been Taiwan, with Japan a close second.

 

APA: Favorite TV show?

ERIC: Hard to say, although I do plead guilty to watching almost every episode of “Friends”. That one was definitely a really good one.

 

APA: Favorite season?

ERIC: Summer.

 

APA: Favorite vacation destination?

ERIC: Probably someplace with beautiful landscapes in Europe.

 

APA: Interesting fact about yourself?

ERIC: I really playing poker for fun.

Revised-E-Lu-Slide

Author: americanpianistsassociation

The mission of the American Pianists Association is to discover, promote and advance the careers of young, American jazz and classical pianists.

Leave a Reply

